“The End Of Ideology” What the hell does that mean?

If you have stumbled across my blog, you may be wondering what the title is all about.

Did I choose this title just to try and sound cool?  Maybe that was half the reason.

Am I talking out of my ass?  I’ve been known to do that.

Is there actually a meaning to it?

Let me explain . . .

In my first post, I gave a very brief bio of myself.  A big part of my life for many years was seeking out truth and meaning.  I looked for it in the Bible, the Communist Manifesto, newspapers, history books, literary novels, all over the place.  I talked endlessly with anyone who cared to talk  about such things.  I drove myself mad trying to answer this question: what the hell is it all about?

This led me to a lot of conclusions, and then a lot of backtracking, then on to more conclusions, and finally more backtracking.  I didn’t know what to believe.  Every answer has an opposite and that opposite has a rebuttal from a different answer.  In the midst of this storm of conjecture, I, for some reason, assumed there must be a single answer – an Ideology that was the truth.

To many reads, this may sound like non-sense.  “Of course,” they might say, “there is no single truth.” Many people believe that truth is completely subjective or varies from culture to culture.  I couldn’t accept this and still don’t.  If I did, I would have to say that cultures that execute nonbelievers and so called sexual deviants are justified in their actions.  I would have to accept that psychopaths, murdering others in some haze of fantasy, are merely following their own personal truth.

But, rejecting relativism doesn’t mean that there must be a single philosophy or religion that holds a monopoly on truth.  I’ve come to find that truth is probably both objective and subjective since it is most likely a human creation, but, at the same time, has no meaning whatsoever if it can mean anything.  A paradox I doubt I could resolve in a lifetime.

At any rate, I’ve found that using a particular ideology to understand the world is much like looking out a newly cleaned window.  At first you can see everything and your eyes convince your brain that everything is known at first glance.  The world seems to come alive, full of meaning, full of hope.  If you were to stand in front of that window for too long, the window would collect dust.  Slowly, you would know less and less of the outside world and eventually nothing.  Yet, you are still standing there using the same window view to interpret the world.

The place at the end of ideology is the place where you open the window and decide to look at the view as it is, without all the dust.  It is the place where humans ask questions, not expecting to know all the answers.  It is also the place where we may find answers and begin to solve the plethora of problems facing mankind today.

15 comments

  1. arcade1775 · January 31, 2015

    a true philosopher, you are. ^^ my heart leaps at what is possible if more people adopted this difficult point of view…

    Like

  2. Neal · January 31, 2015

    When is your book coming out? Can’t wait.
    Also, we need to hang and debate philosophy sometime soon. 😉

    Like

  3. Logan G · January 31, 2015

    I truly enjoyed that. And I agree that “truth is probably both objective and subjective since it is most likely a human creation”. I used to believe that a particular holy book had absolute truth but it was a trap for the mind and heart.

    My best to you in your journey!

    Like

  4. garyfpatton · February 1, 2015

    I’m looking forward Joyful to being intelectually prodded, even punched, by your thinking. I can’t stand philosophy as one commenter called your wrinting.

    But, I was intrigued and inspired by your piece …despite my inability as a Jesus Follower to agree with your conclusion.

    Like you, I abhor all the above beliefs which you mention as a Jesus Follower. I think they are totally dysfunctional of the basic and life-foundational, plus God-given human right to choose. In fact, I feel these kinds of beliefs border on insanity.

    Likewise, I abhor political correctness and its Demonic Twin, the extreme of ‘multiculturalism’. Many in western society now argue the the religion of multiculturalism requires my honouring and respecting what I called above cultural perversities. Again, Jesus tells me no!

    And, if you are disconbobulated by paradox you’ll hate reflecting on ‘antinomy’.

    Can there be equally valid but seemingly opposing truths. Of course there can. They’re called by the seldom-used English word ‘antinomy’.

    The Jesus-following New Covenant portion of the christian bible has a number of antinomies, e.g., free will vs. the absolutevsovereignty of almighty God, and strength following from weakness, to name only two glaring, seemingly opposing truths.

    But, yout above noted and still other appalling, and similar, cultural perversities are not antinomies! They are just plain wrong… for me, New Covenantally wrong!

    Regrettably, the revised, antichristian redefinition by online and other dictionaries of antinomy as a mere synonym of ‘paradox’ has emasculated it’s power. Antinomy is NOT paradox.

    This intentional redefinition of antimony is designed to ignore the existence of truth. It also belies the reality of biblical and, possibly other antinomies. (However, I have yet to discover one outside biblical statements. Please let me know if you have or ever do.)

    Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dharmasar Thero · February 1, 2015

    Thank you for thinking. There is an objective and subjective truth, which everyone already follows whether they know it or not. That is, to find the end of suffering. BTW thanks for liking my blog.

    Like

  6. Judith Post · February 1, 2015

    I’ve asked questions my entire life, and I’ve decided–maybe–that asking is the right direction, that searching is good. Answers, for me, just create more questions–but maybe that’s good.

    Like

  7. lauramaria3 · February 3, 2015

    Nice post. This constant doubt has definitively come intuitively to me; even before grad school. Although radical relativism is a concern usually lodged at any post-modernism, I think many philosophers have addressed the ethical in interesting ways: Jean-Luc Nancy for example, talking about how we are responsible to the other because the “other” is constitutive of our self. Even Derrida has addressed crimes against humanity often times. They don’t always stay in that elitist stratosphere of “life is meaningless” bs. There’s hope! lol

    Like

  8. johnbarleycorn12 · February 3, 2015

    As you grow older, you will realize that what you seek is a journey and not a destination. Learn something new every day and keep an open mind is my key to happiness. Good day to you.

    Like

    • jayfel354 · February 3, 2015

      I agree. I can’t remember the last day I didn’t learn something, even if it was trivial.
      And a good day to you

      Like

  9. Gordon C. Stewart · February 4, 2015

    I was pleased to see that you dropped by Views from the Edge before I read your “The End of Ideology”. Having read this fine reflection makes me feel honored that you came by. Good work, friend. Ideology, as you know already, is a blinder, like the blinders placed on race horses to keep them looking straight ahead on the race track. We are all, to one extent or another, trying to learn the difference between glasses and blinders. As a pastor-theologian I am steeped in Christian-Marxist dialogue continuing to seek a better way in myself and for the human race and Nature. Thank you for being part of the search and for sharing it openly here.

    Like

  10. Mike · February 9, 2015

    Welcome to the journey. Like you, I’m trying to figure out a lot of the big stuff, too. Lately, I’ve been able to work out some answers through writing. Like Flannery O’Connor, I write because I don’t know what I think until I read what I say.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gordon C. Stewart · February 12, 2015

      I understand. Keep writing. It’s good.

      Like

    • jayfel354 · February 12, 2015

      Thanks Mike,

      I feel the same way too. There can be so many thoughts in a persons head that they don’t know what to do with them until they are out. Writing seems to give the mind the perfect organization tool to sort through the mess.

      Like

  11. philstanfield · February 23, 2015

    Hi Jay Fel

    From my notes from W.K.C. Guthrie vol. 2:
    ‘Certainly Democritus said that though the mind thought ill of the senses because in themselves they did not reflect reality, yet it took its evidence from them…(the dictum of Democritus was) that phenomena are a window on the unseen. Through them, if we do not stop there, we can become aware of the nature of the invisible realities.

    (Of this, Guthrie had a footnote/quotation) As George Herbert wrote:
    A man that looks on glasse
    On it may stay his eye,
    Or if he pleaseth, through it passe
    And then the heav’n espie

    If the glass through which we look is the sensible world, then with ‘heav’n’ we have Platonism. Substitute ‘atoms and void’ and it is Democritean. If the word were ‘real’, it would fit either philosophy.’

    Best wishes, Phil Stanfield

    Like

  12. grantman · February 23, 2015

    Very interesting…I don’t follow many blogs, but I am going to add you to my list..So given that this blog is going to chit chat about the non everyday get by stuff, may I pose this question to you. What if Descartes got it wrong? I will let you mull that around for a while.. and look forward to your thoughts…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

